Orchestrations & Arrangements

42ÈME RUE

Radio France, 2018 & 2019

For more than 10 years, the 42nd Street radio show has been the the go-to broadcast for musical theater in France. Last year, to celebrate its 10th anniversary, Laurent Valière brought together 80 musicians/singers on stage, along with an orchestra of 21 musicians, in a staging by director Agnès Boury. He entrusted me with the orchestrations and the musical direction of this exceptional concert: three hours to celebrate musical theater live on France Musique. In 2019, we returned with a new concert: 42ème Rue Fait son Show.

Watch 42ème Rue Fête ses 10 ans HERE

Watch 42ème Rue Fait son Show HERE

ORCHESTRAL MEMORIES

Salle Pleyel 2017

Bandai Namco Entertainment Europe entered into the world of live music production in order to bring to life some of the most sumptuous, iconic and memorable songs from the Bandai Namco franchises. 

To hear the music of Tales of..., Dark Souls, SoulCalibur, Pac-Man or Ace Combat played by an orchestra of 80 musicians, fans came to the Salle Pleyel on February 4, 2017 for this symphonic concert.

YVAN CASSAR

2017-2018

For the past few years, a wonderful collaboration has developed between Yvan Cassar and myself. He has entrusted me with the arrangements and orchestrations for several artists, and we have on stage together many times. Whether it with the Philharmonic Orchestra of Monaco or of Marseille, the Royal Opera of Versailles or the Studio Air in London, working with a musician of this caliber represents joy and a new challenge to take up.

On the videos to the left, a few examples of my work with Yvan: 

  • Malèna, a glimpse of the title song for Roberto Alagna's CD

  • Santa Baby, recorded during the television broadcast of Roberto Alagna chante Noël

  • Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, rehearsal for the concert at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées with Natalie Dessay

VINCENT NICLO

​Salle Pleyel / tournée 2017

It was with pleasure that I responded to the request of Ysabelle Arfi, Vincent Niclo's musical director, to create a medley of songs by Michel Legrand, made to measure for the singer. The premiere took place at Salle Pleyel on March 4th.

NATALIE DESSAY CHANTE MICHEL LEGRAND

Théâtre Nationale de Toulouse

Unfortunately, few traces remain of this concert with Natalie Dessay, which took place at the Théâtre National de Toulouse, directed by Laurent Pelly. I was a wonderful opportunity to write for the Toulouse Chamber Orchestra, with which I associated about twenty jazz musicians. No recording was made, except by the public! Here are two "stolen" excerpts...

CHANTE!

Théâtre Déjazet, 2014

The motto of this show could be "Do what you want and everything will sing with you!". During this musical and theatrical performance, Isabelle tells us that it's never too late to reinvent the extraordinary every day, to celebrate humanity and find a little meaning and tenderness in a world where everything goes decidedly too fast, all with a fine sense of swing, needless to say!

Written by Isabelle Georges
Directed by Anne Bourgeois
With Frederik Steenbrink, Jérôme Sarfati, David Grebil, Edouard Pennes, Adrien Sanchez

RENDEZ-VOUS

Théâtre de Paris, 2010

"Rendez-vous" is the French adaptation of "She Loves Me". Kad Mérad plays the role of Georg Nowack, director of a perfume factory in Hungary. A quiet and discreet man who anonymously corresponds with a "very dear" stranger with whom he has fallen in love without meeting. Soon, a new saleswoman, Amalia Balash, arrives. Immediately, the two characters hate each other. And yet, they will quickly discover that they have been writing to each other for several months without even knowing it!


Directed by Jean-Luc Revol
Avec Kad Merad, Magali Bonfils, Laurent Lafitte, Pierre Santini, Alyssa Landry, Andy Cocq, Paolo Domingo, Jean-Michel Fournereau, Lauri Lupi, Sofia Naït, Mélusine, Laure Balon, François Beretta, Grégory Gonel, Olivier Tiago Do Nacimiento

SOUINGUE & SOUINGUE! SOUINGUE!

Théâtre de Suresnes/tournée 1998 et 2018

In the beginning was "Souingue"... an adventure started in 1998 by seven jazz fans: a  burlesque show if ever there was one, applauded more than 250 times in the four corners of France... 

Reprising the witty words of great authors and the iconic performances of personalities of the French stage, we decided to "re-souingue" in 2008, in a new review of post-war repertoire. 

Thirty unexpected and humorous songs, from Boby Lapointe to Nougaro, which I had the pleasure of arranging for my long-time accomplices!


Directed by Laurent Pelly
Avec Fabienne Guyon, Florence Pelly, Gilles Vajou et Jacques Verzier

Orchestrations & Arrangements

42ÈME RUE

Radio France, 2018 & 2019

Depuis plus de 10 ans, l’émission 42ème Rue est le carrefour de la comédie et du théâtre musical en France. L'année dernière, pour fêter les 10 ans, Laurent Valière a réuni 80 musiciens/chanteurs sur scène, et un orchestre de 21 musiciens, dans une mise en espace de la metteur en scène Agnès Boury. Il m'a confié les orchestrations et la direction musicale de ce concert exceptionnel: trois heures pour fêter le théâtre musical en public et en direct sur France Musique. Cette année nous avons remis le couvert avec un nouveau concert: 42ème Rue Fait son Show.

Regarder 42ème Rue Fête ses 10 ans ICI

Regarder 42ème Rue Fait son Show ICI

ORCHESTRAL MEMORIES

Salle Pleyel 2017

​Bandai Namco Entertainment Europe débarque dans l'industrie de la musique live pour faire revivre certains morceaux parmi les plus somptueux, les plus emblématiques et les plus mémorables des franchises de Bandai Namco. 

Pour écouter les musiques des Tales of..., Dark Souls, SoulCalibur, Pac-Man ou encore Ace Combat jouées par un orchestre de 80 musiciens, les fans se sont rendus à la Salle Pleyel le 4 février 2017 pour ce concert symphonique.

YVAN CASSAR

2017-2018

Depuis quelques années, une belle collaboration s'est développée avec Yvan Cassar. Il m'a confié des arrangements et des orchestrations pour plusieurs artistes, et nous avons partagé la scène à plusieurs reprises. Que ce soit avec l'Orchestre philharmonique de Monaco ou de Marseille, l'Opéra Royal de Versailles ou encore au Studio Air à Londres, travailler avec un musicien de cette trempe représente à chaque fois un bonheur et un nouveau défi à relever.

Sur les vidéos à gauche, trois exemples:

  • Malèna, un aperçu de la chanson titre du CD de Roberto Alagna

  • Santa Baby, enregistré lors de l'émission Roberto Alagna chante Noël.

  • Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, répétition du concert au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

VINCENT NICLO

​Salle Pleyel / tournée

C'est avec plaisir que j'ai répondu à la demande d'Ysabelle Arfi, directrice musicale de Vincent Niclo, de concevoir un medley sur des titres de Michel Legrand, fabriqué sur mesure pour le chanteur. La première a eu lieu Salle Pleyel le 4 mars dernier.

NATALIE DESSAY CHANTE MICHEL LEGRAND

Théâtre Nationale de Toulouse

Il reste malheureusement peu de traces de ce concert-spectacle avec Natalie Dessay qui a eu lieu au Théâtre National de Toulouse sur une mise en scène de Laurent Pelly. J'ai eu la chance d'écrire pour l'Orchestre de Chambre de Toulouse auquel j'ai associé une vingtaine de musiciens de jazz. Aucun enregistrement n'en a été fait, si ce n'est par le public! Voici deux extraits "volés"...

CHANTE!

Théâtre Déjazet, 2014

La devise de ce spectacle pourrait être : « Faites ce qui vous chante et tout chantera en vous ! ». Pour ce voyage musical et théâtral, Isabelle nous murmure qu'il n'est jamais trop tard pour réinventer l'extraordinaire au quotidien, célébrer l'humanité et trouver un peu de sens et de tendresse dans un monde où tout va décidément trop vite, le tout en swinguant, bien sûr !

Un spectacle d’Isabelle Georges
​Mise en scène de Anne Bourgeois
Avec Frederik Steenbrink, Jérôme Sarfati, David Grebil, Edouard Pennes, Adrien Sanchez

RENDEZ-VOUS

Théâtre de Paris, 2010

"Rendez-vous" est  l'adaptation française de "She Loves Me". Kad Mérad y interprète le rôle de Georg Nowack, directeur d'une parfumerie en Hongrie. Un homme tranquille et discret qui correspond anonymement avec une "très chère" inconnue dont il est tombé amoureux sans l'avoir jamais rencontrée. Bientôt, arrive une nouvelle vendeuse, Amalia Balash. Immédiatement, les deux personnages se détestent. Et pourtant, ils découvriront rapidement qu'ils s'écrivent depuis plusieurs mois sans même le savoir !

Mise en scène de Jean-Luc Revol
Avec Kad Merad, Magali Bonfils, Laurent Lafitte, Pierre Santini, Alyssa Landry, Andy Cocq, Paolo Domingo, Jean-Michel Fournereau, Lauri Lupi, Sofia Naït, Mélusine, Laure Balon, François Beretta, Grégory Gonel, Olivier Tiago Do Nacimiento

SOUINGUE & SOUINGUE! SOUINGUE!

Théâtre de Suresnes/tournée 1998 et 2018

Au commencement était le “Souingue”… une folle aventure commencée en 1998 par sept fondus de jazz : un spectacle burlesque premier du nom, applaudi plus de 250 fois aux quatre coins de France... "
Reprenant les bons mots d’auteurs et grands interprètes de la scène française, nous avons décidé de “re-swinguer” de plus belle en 2008, dans une nouvelle revue du répertoire d’après-guerre, toujours mise en jambes par Laurent Pelly.
Une trentaine de titres désopilants, de Boby Lapointe à Nougaro, que j'ai eu le bonheur d'arranger pour mes complices de si longue date!

Mise en scène de Laurent Pelly
Avec Fabienne Guyon, Florence Pelly, Gilles Vajou et Jacques Verzier